NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
Back to results
ERIC Number: ED537408
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2008-Oct-19
Pages: 4
Abstractor: ERIC
Council for the Advancement of Standards Learning and Developmental Outcomes
Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education
The Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS) promotes standards to enhance opportunities for student learning and development from higher education programs and services. Responding to the increased shift in attention being paid by educators and their stakeholders from higher education inputs (i.e., standards and benchmarks) to the outcomes of students attending higher education, in 2003 CAS articulated 16 domains of learning outcomes. However, in 2008 after the publication of Learning Reconsidered 2 (2006), CAS reviewed the learning outcomes it had promoted and decided an integration of both learning outcome documents would enhance the profession's efforts in promoting student learning and development. Consequently, CAS hosted a "think tank" involving writers of "Learning Considered 2," CAS directors, and prominent practitioners and faculty members in student affairs to make recommendations for a revised learning outcomes document. Upon recommendations of the think tank, CAS revised the student learning and development outcomes into six broad categories (called domains): (1) knowledge acquisition, construction, integration and application; (2) cognitive complexity; (3) intrapersonal development; (4) interpersonal competence; (5) humanitarianism and civic engagement; and (6) practical competence. To comply with CAS standards, institutional programs and services must identify relevant and desirable learning from these domains, assess relevant and desirable learning, and articulate how their programs and services contribute to domains not specifically assessed. For each of the domains, CAS offers examples illustrating achievement of the student learning outcomes. This learning outcomes model further defines or clarifies each of the six domains by identifying learning outcome dimensions. Offering dimensions of learning within corresponding domains allows for a more focused assessment approach based on institutional mission and priorities. The revised CAS learning outcomes document heightens the differentiation of interpersonal competence and interpersonal development (though certainly the two influence each other), highlights the integration of humanitarianism and civic engagement, and adds the dimensions of global perspective and technological competence to important learning outcomes. (Contains 3 footnotes.) [Jan Arminio contributed to this document.
Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education. One DuPont Circle Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036. Tel: 202-862-1400; Fax: 202-296-3286; Web site:
Publication Type: Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: Higher Education
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS)