NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
Back to results
ERIC Number: ED508041
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2009-Oct
Pages: 20
Abstractor: ERIC
The 2009 Legislative Briefing
Gaines, Gale F., Comp.
Southern Regional Education Board (SREB)
"The 2009 Legislative Briefing" is a topical summary of actions during the 2009 legislative sessions that affect education in the 16 SREB states. Topics include: state budgets and the economy; tax and revenue; teacher and faculty pay raises; retirement systems; issues affecting teachers and education leaders; health and safety; standards, assessment and accountability; student preparation; programs for young and at-risk students; tuition and fees; student financial aid; and higher education. Regular legislative sessions have ended in all SREB states. Not surprisingly, economic conditions in the states dominated the focus of the legislatures during the sessions. Budgets for 2009-2010 reflect continued economic stress, though federal recovery funds mitigated deep reductions as the fiscal year opened. In light of reduced revenues, several states have passed legislation giving school districts the budget and operating flexibility to help schools manage operations. States also are taking a variety of other actions to help make ends meet. Despite the economic situation, lawmakers passed significant legislation that focuses on educational quality and continued improvements. [This report was based on the "2009 Legislative Reports", written primarily by Jeffrey Grove, and Asenith Dixon.]
Southern Regional Education Board. 592 10th Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30318-5790. Tel: 404-875-9211; Fax: 404-872-1477; e-mail:; Web site:
Publication Type: Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: Elementary Secondary Education; Higher Education; Postsecondary Education; Preschool Education; Two Year Colleges
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Southern Regional Education Board
Identifiers - Location: Alabama; Arkansas; Delaware; Florida; Georgia; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maryland; Mississippi; North Carolina; Oklahoma; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Virginia; West Virginia