NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
Back to results
ERIC Number: ED560509
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2013
Pages: 219
Abstractor: ERIC
ISBN: 978-92-820-1176-8
Linking Recognition Practices and National Qualifications Frameworks: International Benchmarking of Experiences and Strategies on the Recognition, Validation and Accreditation (RVA) of Non-Formal and Informal Learning
Singh, Madhu, Ed.; Duvekot, Ruud, Ed.
UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning
This publication is the outcome of the international conference organized by UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL), in collaboration with the Centre for Validation of Prior Learning at Inholland University of Applied Sciences, the Netherlands, and in partnership with the French National Commission for UNESCO that was held in Hamburg in March 2010 with participants (experts and officials) from governmental organisations from more than twenty UNESCO Member States in all regions of the world. The reports contained in this book demonstrate the many ways that recognition, validation, and accreditation of prior learning can help to make lifelong learning for all a reality. The concept of lifelong learning has become a vital component in developing and utilizing human potential and capabilities. Lifelong learning covers the full range of learning opportunities, from early childhood through school to higher and further education. Qualification systems across the globe are generally well equipped to deal with learning acquired in institutional settings. One of the greatest challenges, however, is how to recognize learning that occurs outside the formal education sector. In this book, the recognition, validation, and accreditation (RVA) of learning in formal, non-formal, and informal settings is examined within a variety of national and regional contexts. In reviewing the implementation of RVA, this book focuses on five key factors: (1) national reference points for RVA; (2) policy and legislation; (3) the contribution of recognition to social inclusion; (4) stakeholder involvement; and (5) features of recognition processes. Following a foreword by Arne Carlsen, the book contains the following chapters, which are divided into 23 country-specific reports: (1) Burkina Faso: A New Paradigm for Skills Development (Boubakar Savadogo and Richard Walther); (2) Gambia: GSQF and Recognition of Non-Formal and Informal Learning (Saffiatou Savage-Sidibeh); (3) Ghana: Integrating Non-Formal and Informal Learning into the New TVET Qualifications Framework (Daniel Baffour-Awuah); (4) Mauritius: The Mauritian Model of Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) (Kaylash Allgoo); (5) Namibia: Challenges of Implementing the RPL Policy (Heroldt V. Murangi); (6) South Africa: Contextual and Institutional Arrangements for Lifelong Learning (Joseph Samuels) (with input from SAQA's research directorate); (7) Jordan: Non-Formal Education Pathways (Jawad Al-Gousous); (8) Syria: Adult Education and Recognition Practices (Abed Al Fattah Al Obeyd); (9) Afghanistan: National Qualifications Framework Assisting Citizens Excluded from Education (Abdul Rahim Nasry); (10) Bhutan: Non-Formal Education Programmes (Ugyen Tshomo); (11) India: The NVQF and Skills Recognition (Ram Lakhan Singh); (12) Republic of Korea: The Academic Credit Bank and the Lifelong Learning Account System (Eun Soon Baik); (13) Malaysia: The Malaysian Qualifications Framework and the Recognition of Prior Learning (Vikneswaran Gobaloo and Zita Mohd Fahmi); (14) New Zealand: The NZQF and Support for Lifelong Learning (Avril Keller); (15) The Czech Republic: The Qualifications System and the National Lifelong Learning Strategy (Jakub Starek); (16) Denmark: The Linkage between RVA-NQF and Lifelong Learning (Benedikte Maul Andersen and Kirsten Aagaard); (17) Finland: An Outline of the NQF Development and the Recognition of Prior Learning (Carita Blomqvist and Saara Louko); (18) France: The Validation of Acquired Experience (VAE) (Marie-Odile Paulet); (19) The Netherlands: Top-Down and Bottom-Up Approaches (Ruud Duvekot); (20) Norway: Linking Validation of Prior Learning to the Formal System (Hanne Christensen); (21) Portugal: Formalising Non-Formal and Informal Learning (Maria do Carmo Gomes); (22) Mexico: The National System of Competence Standards (NSCS) and Recognition (Sergio G. Garcia-Bulle); and (23) Trinidad and Tobago: Institution-Based Recognition of Prior Learning (Lalita Ramlal-Chirkoot). Contains a list of acronyms and an index. Individual chapters contain tables, figures, and references.
UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning. Feldbrunnenstrasse 58, 20148 Hamburg, Germany. Tel: +49-40-4480410; Fax: +49-40-4107723; e-mail:; Web site:
Publication Type: Books; Collected Works - General; Reports - Evaluative
Education Level: Adult Education; Higher Education; Postsecondary Education; Elementary Secondary Education
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL) (Germany)
Identifiers - Location: Afghanistan; Bhutan; Burkina Faso; Czech Republic; Denmark; Finland; France; Gambia; Ghana; India; Jordan; Malaysia; Mauritius; Mexico; Namibia; Netherlands; New Zealand; Norway; Portugal; South Africa; South Korea; Syria; Trinidad and Tobago