NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
Back to results
ERIC Number: ED581937
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2016
Pages: 74
Abstractor: As Provided
ISBN: 978-92-9492-352-3
ISSN: ISSN-2443-5260
National Student Fee and Support Systems in European Higher Education, 2016/17. Eurydice--Facts and Figures
Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency, European Commission
This annual report shows how fee and support systems (including grants and loans) work in higher education in Europe. It provides both a comparative overview of fees and financial support available to full-time students in 2016/17, and also includes individual country sheets outlining the main elements of national systems. In particular, the publication describes the range of fees charged to national, EU and international students, specifying the categories of students that are required to pay and those who may be exempt. Similarly, it explains the types and amounts of public support available in the form of grants and loans, as well as tax benefits and family allowances where applicable. The report focuses on fees and support in public or government-dependent private higher education institutions for short cycle, first cycle (Bachelor level) and second cycle (Master level) programmes, and does not cover private higher education institutions. Information covers the 28 EU Member States as well as Bosnia and Herzegovina, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Montenegro, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Norway, Serbia and Turkey.
Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency, European Commission. Available from EU Bookshop. e-mail:; Web site:
Publication Type: Reports - Evaluative; Numerical/Quantitative Data
Education Level: Higher Education
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: European Commission, Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA); Eurydice
Identifiers - Location: Belgium; Bulgaria; Czech Republic; Denmark; Germany; Estonia; Ireland; Greece; Spain; France; Croatia; Italy; Cyprus; Latvia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Hungary; Malta; Netherlands; Austria; Poland; Portugal; Romania; Slovenia; Slovakia; Finland; Sweden; United Kingdom (England); United Kingdom (Wales); United Kingdom (Northern Ireland); United Kingdom (Scotland); Bosnia and Herzegovina; Switzerland; Iceland; Liechtenstein; Montenegro; Macedonia; Norway; Serbia; Turkey; European Union