NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
Peer reviewed Peer reviewed
Direct linkDirect link
ERIC Number: EJ883718
Record Type: Journal
Publication Date: 2009
Pages: 16
Abstractor: As Provided
ISSN: ISSN-1052-4800
The Evolution of Educational Objectives: Bloom's Taxonomy and beyond
Fallahi, Carolyn R.; LaMonaca, Frank H., Jr.
Journal on Excellence in College Teaching, v20 n1 p71-86 2009
It is crucial for teachers to communicate effectively about educational objectives to students, colleagues, and others in education. In 1956, Bloom developed a cognitive learning taxonomy to enhance communication between college examiners. The Bloom taxonomy consists of 6 hierarchical levels of learning (knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation), which has endured through different applications and adaptations. Two more recent taxonomies have addressed issues not included in Bloom's taxonomy or its subsequent adaptations. Shulman (2004) designed a non-linear, 6-level table of learning that begins with knowledge/understanding and proceeds toward the higher-level functions of engagement/ motivation, performance/action, reflection/critique, judgment/ design, and commitment/identity. The 6 learning categories in Fink's model (2003)--foundational knowledge, application, integration, human dimension, caring, and learning how to learn--build upon each other and encourage educators to integrate significant learning experiences into their curricula. The authors review these taxonomies and conclude that validation of Fink's taxonomy in psychology education is warranted. (Contains 1 table and 1 figure.)
Miami University. 303 South Patterson Avenue, Oxford, OH 45056. Tel: 513-529-9265; Fax: 513-529-9264; Web site:
Publication Type: Journal Articles; Reports - Research
Education Level: Higher Education
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: N/A