NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED538192
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2010-Sep
Pages: 2
Abstractor: ERIC
Reference Count: N/A
AOD Issues at Tribal Colleges and Universities. Prevention Update
Higher Education Center for Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Violence Prevention
According to the White House Initiative on Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs), there are 36 federally recognized TCUs in the United States. Located mainly in the Midwest and Southwest, TCUs enroll approximately 30,000 full- and part-time students. They offer two-year associate degrees in more than 200 disciplines, with some providing a bachelor's and master's degree. According to Bonnie Duran, director of the Indigenous Wellness Research Institute (IRWI) Center for Indigenous Health Research at the University of Washington, her preliminary search found "no published or gray literature describing the epidemiology of alcohol-related problems at TCUs, though two studies by the American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) provide retention statistics that describe a population with unmet social and behavioral health needs." Although there are no data for TCU students specifically related to alcohol and drug abuse, there are data regarding alcohol consumption patterns and related behavioral problems for young American Indians or Alaska Natives (AIAN) who comprise 80 percent of TCU students. This paper highlights what campuses are doing with regard to alcohol-drinking and drug-use among students.
Higher Education Center for Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Violence Prevention. EDC, Inc. 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453. Tel: 800-676-1730; Fax: 617-928-1537; e-mail:; Web site:
Publication Type: Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: Higher Education; Postsecondary Education; Two Year Colleges
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools (ED); Education Development Center, Inc.
Authoring Institution: Higher Education Center for Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Violence Prevention (ED)
Identifiers - Location: Minnesota; North Dakota; Washington