NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED533408
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2011-Oct
Pages: 68
Abstractor: As Provided
Reference Count: 6
Evaluation of "The Electric Company" Summer Learning Program
McCarthy, Betsy; Michel, Lisa; Tiu, Michelle; Atienza, Sara; Rice, John; Nakamoto, Jonathan; Tafoya, Armando
WestEd (NJ3)
"The Electric Company" ("TEC") television show won the hearts of children because it made learning fun. Thirty years later, the iconic show has returned with the goal of not only teaching literacy, but also numeracy (the ability to work with and understand numbers) and mathematics vocabulary in a fun, entertaining, and engaging manner. "The Electric Company" Summer Learning Program curriculum includes: (1) Scripted group facilitation; (2) DVDs of 12 new TEC episodes (viewing two episodes per week); (3) Targeted broadband activities; and (4) Individual and peer activities. The Summer Learning Program is 36 hours in length, spread out over five to six weeks. Participants include both teachers and students, ages 6 to 8 years. Last year, 152 students and 16 teachers participated in 1 of 12 programs nationwide. In this report, WestEd researchers describe a formative evaluation study of TEC in 2009 and provide feedback on successes and areas for improvement. Some key findings: (1) Students showed a 20% gain in their numeracy skills from pre- to post-assessment; (2) Students showed a 41% gain in their mathematics vocabulary from pre- to post-assessment; and (3) Students showed a 17% gain in their phonics skills from pre- to post-assessment. (Contains 18 exhibits and 3 footnotes.)
WestEd. 730 Harrison Street, San Francisco, CA 94107-1242. Tel: 877-493-7833; Tel: 415-565-3000; Fax: 415-565-3012; Web site:
Publication Type: Reports - Research
Education Level: Adult Education; Elementary Education; Elementary Secondary Education; Grade 1; Grade 2; Postsecondary Education
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: WestEd
Identifiers - Location: California; District of Columbia; New Jersey; New Mexico; Ohio; Utah