NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED512269
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2009
Pages: 70
Abstractor: ERIC
Reference Count: N/A
Tennessee Higher Education Fact Book, 2008-2009
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
The Tennessee Higher Education Commission was created in 1967 by the Tennessee General Assembly to achieve coordination and foster unity with regard to higher education. The Commission coordinates two systems of higher education: the University of Tennessee institutions governed by the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees, and the state universities, community colleges, and technology centers governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents. There are currently nine public universities, 13 community colleges, and 27 technology centers in Tennessee that serve over 225,000 students collectively. The Commission is composed of nine lay members appointed by the Governor for six year terms representing congressional districts of the State, three Constitutional Officers who are ex-officio voting members (Comptroller of the Treasury, State Treasurer, and Secretary of State), two ex-officio student members who serve two year terms, and the Executive Director of the State Board of Education as an ex-officio non-voting member. This fact book contains the following sections: (1) Enrollment and Transfers; (2) Persistence and Attainment; (3) Fiscal; and (4) Glossary. [For the 2007-2008 report, see ED512308.]
Tennessee Higher Education Commission. 404 James Robertson Parkway Suite 1900, Nashville, TN 37243. Tel: 615-741-3605; Fax: 615-741-6230; Web site:
Publication Type: Numerical/Quantitative Data; Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: Higher Education; Postsecondary Education; Two Year Colleges
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Tennessee Higher Education Commission
Identifiers - Location: Tennessee