NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED475564
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2002
Pages: 173
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Baldrige Educational Quality Criteria as Another Model for Accreditation in American Community Colleges.
Faulkner, Jane B.
Institutional accreditation is a voluntary, non-governmental activity administered by the eight postsecondary accrediting institutions that are part of the six regional associations that serve colleges and universities in the United States. The author cites W. Edwards Deming's work on corporate quality improvement, and its applicability to community colleges. The work of Deming and others contributed to the creation of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA) Program Criteria, a quality framework used to measure institutional effectiveness in the United States. The Award Program, designed to recognize excellence in the private sector, was patterned after the Deming Award in Japan. In 1995, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) initiated pilot programs in education to gauge the level of readiness of educational institutions to participate in the Baldrige Award Program, and in 1998 President Clinton added education to the list of organizations eligible to apply for the award. This researcher sent survey questionnaires regarding the key aspects of Baldrige Educational Quality Criteria as they relate to institutional planning in community colleges to 202 community college leaders. The response rate was 52.5% (106). The survey includes 6 qualitative questions and 10 demographic questions. The author finds there to be more interest in the Baldrige criteria by accrediting associations than by community college leaders. Research instrument appended. (Contains 91 references, 20 figures, and 1 table.) (NB)
Publication Type: Dissertations/Theses - Doctoral Dissertations; Tests/Questionnaires
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: N/A