NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED473658
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2001-Nov
Pages: 16
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
E-Learning and the Professional Development of Trainers and Vocational Teachers.
European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training, Thessaloniki (Greece).
The professional development activities in which trainers and vocational teachers are engaging to acquire new expertise in e-learning were examined through a survey that was completed by 446 individuals. Nearly 80% of the respondents were from within the European Union (EU). The rest came from other European countries, North American, Australia, or New Zealand. Key findings were as follows: (1) 60% had undertaken informal self-development through a range of media; (2) informal learning tended to be highest among respondents from nontraining public sector organizations and consultants; (3) 30.5% had formal classroom-based training, 18.6% had undertaken formal World Wide Web-based training programs, and 16.4% had undertaken some form of hybrid (Web and classroom) or blended formal training; (4) 16.6% had not undertaken any professional development in relation to e-learning in the previous 12-24 months; (5) the most common reasons for not undertaking any professional development were lack of time and lack of funds; (7) trainers and vocational teachers were undertaking less information and computer technology skills development and moving into improving their expertise in pedagogical and management issues in relation to e-learning; (8) most respondents rated their current trainer training programs poor or fair; and (9) most respondents funded most of the cost of their professional development themselves. (Contains 7 figures) (MN)
For full text: vey/repo_corrList.asp?f=17&l_id=1.
Publication Type: Reports - Research
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training, Thessaloniki (Greece).
Identifiers - Location: Australia; European Union; New Zealand; North America