NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED466434
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2002
Pages: 150
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
ISBN: ISBN-0-87986-091-X
Building a Legacy: Women in Social Education, 1784-1984. NCSS Bulletin.
Crocco, Margaret Smith, Ed.; Davis, O. L., Jr., Ed.
This collection of biographical articles presents several issues concerning story of women working in the social studies placing it within a broad intellectual and social context. Following the "Preface" (M. S. Crocco), the collection is divided into five chronological sections. The first section entitled, "Conceptualizing Social Education for a Growing Nation: 1784-1919," includes: Hannah Adams (S. Schwartz); Emma Hart Willard (M. B. Henning); Mary Downing Sheldon Barnes (F. E. Monteverde); Jane Addams (P. Munro); and Lucy Maynard Salmon (C. H. Bohan). The second section, "Becoming Partners in Citizenship Education: 1920-1945," contains: Mary Ritter Beard (S. Bair); Bessie Louise Pierce (M. R. Nelson); Ruth West (P. Robinson); Jessie Campbell Evans (A. G. DeWaal-Lucas); Lucy Sprague Mitchell (S. L. Field); Rachel Davis DuBois (O. L. Davis, Jr.); Helen Heffernan (K. Weiler); Elma Alva Neal (M. D. Davis); Hilda Taba (J. Bernard-Powers); Helen Merrell Lynd (J. W. Null); Eleanor Roosevelt (D. Perlstein); and Mary Gertrude Kelty (K. C. Barton). The third chronological section entitled, "Challenging Post-War Retrenchment: 1946-60," includes the following articles: Lavone A. Hanna (T. C. Howard); Alice Miel (E. A. Yeager); Myrtle Roberts (M. Black); Eunice I. Johns (K. C. Barton); Wilhelmina Hill (D. M. Shinew); Dorothy McClure Fraser (S. D. Van Hover); Alice Winifred Spieseke (M. P. Marino); Septima Poinsette Clark (A. Makler); Ella Josephine Baker (G. Gay); Marion Thompson Wright (M. S. Crocco); Nelda Mae Davis (C. J. Craig); Helen McCracken Carpenter (L. M. Burlbaw); Ruth Elizabeth Ellsworth (L. S. Levstik); and Maxine Dunfee (M. E. Haas). "Embracing the 'New Social Studies': 1961-1975," the fourth section, introduces: Stella Kern (A. S. Libresco); Adeline Brengle (P. Nickell); Jean Fair (J. Alleman); Jean Tilford Claugus (B. S. Stern); Fannie Raskin Shaftel (B. C. Rubin); and Edith West (A. Glenn and W. E. Gardner). The final chronological section entitled, "Debating Future Directions: 1976-1984," includes articles such as: Hazel Whitman Hertzberg (A. D. Mullen); Jean Dresden Grambs (J. M. Cirrincione and R. Jantz); Deborah Partridge Wolfe (S. D. Van Hover); June Chapin (K. Riley); Anna Sultanoff Ochoa-Becker (F. E. Monteverde); June V. Gilliard (L. Cary); Dorothy J. Skeel (R. W. Wilhelm); and Jo Ann Cutler Sweeney (C. Salinas). A conclusion by M. S. Crocco and an index complete the collection. Individual articles contain references. (BT)
National Council for the Social Studies, 8555 Sixteenth Street, Suite 500, Silver Spring, MD 20910. Tel: 301-588-1800; Fax: 301-588-2049; Web site:
Publication Type: Books; Collected Works - General
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: National Council for the Social Studies, Washington, DC.