NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED461222
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1998
Pages: 271
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
ISBN: ISBN-0-415-13979-1
From Them to Us: An International Study of Inclusion in Education.
Booth, Tony, Ed.; Ainscow, Mel, Ed.
This book describes the outcomes of a comparative study that brought together an international team of researchers from eight countries (United States, Scotland, New Zealand, Norway, the Netherlands, Ireland, Australia, and England). The purpose of the study was to develop case studies that would explore the process of inclusion and exclusion within a school or group of schools set in its local and national context. Included are classroom observations, the students' experiences of the school day, and interviews with staff, students, parents, and school governors. Differences and similarities within and between countries are discussed in dimensions that relate to: (1) inclusion and exclusion as unlimited processes; (2) processes of inclusion and exclusion that can be taken for granted; (3) linking the process of inclusion and exclusion; (4) inclusion and exclusion specifically affecting students with low attainment or who are difficult to control; (5) categorization of students with disabilities; (6) medical responses to learning difficulties; (7) response to diversity of learners; (8) student right to inclusive education; (9) common curriculum or special curricula; (10) connection of inclusion and exclusion in school to wide social and political processes; and (11) how differences in perspective on inclusion and exclusion are treated. (Contains approximately 260 references.) (CR)
Routledge, Taylor and Francis Group, 7625 Empire Dr., Florence, KY 41042 (paperback: ISBN-0-415-13979-1, $29.95; hardback: ISBN-0-415-18739-7, $95). Tel: 800-634-7064 (Toll Free).
Publication Type: Books; Collected Works - General; Reports - Research
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: N/A
Identifiers - Location: Australia; Ireland; Netherlands; New Zealand; Norway; United Kingdom (England); United Kingdom (Scotland)