NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED445432
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 2000-Aug
Pages: 12
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Cross-Cutting Teams in State Education Agencies. Quick Turn Around (QTA).
Linehan, Patrice
This report profiles the state departments of education (SEAs) in Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, Nevada, and North Dakota. These SEAs reported in 1996 that they had changed from a departmental structure (e.g., separate units for special education), into cross-cutting teams in the previous five years. Findings indicate that since the 1996 study, three of the seven states have gone through another structural reorganization, and the others have continued to evolve. Reasons cited for SEA reorganization included changes in response to legislative directives, the strategic plan of the governor or commissioner, or to improve monitoring by approaching it in a more comprehensive manner. Some states wanted to eliminate duplication among divisions, and one SEA decided to reorganize to initiate better departmental-level planning. Benefits of cross-cutting teams include increased attention to the needs of students with disabilities, increased knowledge and awareness throughout various divisions, the inclusion of diverse learners in the planning for systemic reform at the beginning rather than as an afterthought, increased inclusion, a comprehensive approach for education students with disabilities, an expansion of resources, and increased collaboration at the local level. Challenges to successful team functioning are also discussed. The document closes with individual state profiles. (CR)
Project FORUM; Tel: 703-519-3800 (Voice); Tel: 703-519-7008 (TDD); available in alternative formats.
Publication Type: Reports - Research
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: Special Education Programs (ED/OSERS), Washington, DC.
Authoring Institution: National Association of State Directors of Special Education, Alexandria, VA.
Identifiers - Location: Colorado; Florida; Illinois; Kentucky; Missouri; Nevada; North Dakota