NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED433447
Record Type: RIE
Publication Date: 1999
Pages: 592
Abstractor: N/A
Child Development (Grades 9-12).
Barber, Marie; Hyer, Renee; Rollins, Jan; Seamons, Mary Lou; Siddoway, Kris; Wall, Cindy
This curriculum guide on child development consists of six units for grades 9-12. A book list is provided. Each unit has 1-15 lessons. Unit 1, Overview of Child Development, teaches the value of studying children. Unit 2, Responsibilities Related to the Child, has four lessons: Parenting Responsibilities, Nurturing/Bonding, Self Concept, and Theories. Unit III, Prenatal Development, has six lessons: The Facts of Life; Male and Female Reproduction; Birth Defects, Genetics, and Heredity; Pregnancy; Stages of Prenatal Development; and Labor, Childbirth, and Postpartum Care. Unit IV, Growth and Development, has 15 lessons: Neonate-- Overview; Neonate--Physical Safety; 3 lessons each for Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers, and School-Age Children--Physical, Cognitive, and Social/Emotional; and Adolescence. Unit V, Decisions that Affect Children, has 11 lessons: Positive Guidance; 4 on Setting the Stage for Learning--Play, Reading, Creativity, and Media Influence; Health: Childhood Diseases; Health and Safety of Children--First Aid; Health and Wellness of Children: Nutrition; Selecting a Child Care Provider; Challenging Times; and Parenting Resources. Unit VI, Child Care Lab, has three lessons: Child Care Lab, Learning Centers/Room Arrangements, and Lesson Plans. Each lesson consists of some or all of these components: time; competencies; overview/summary; motivator; descriptions of 4-14 options and the competencies each covers; resource list; and materials for options: teacher and student information, transparency masters, worksheets, and answer keys. (YLB)
Publication Type: Guides - Classroom - Teacher
Education Level: N/A
Audience: Practitioners; Teachers
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Utah State Office of Education, Salt Lake City.