NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED411917
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1993
Pages: 94
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
ISBN: ISBN-976-691-008-9
The Emergence of Community, State, and National Colleges in the OECS Member Countries: An Institutional Analysis. ISER (EC) Monograph Series No. 2
Peters, Bevis F.
This monograph describes and analyzes recent developments in national tertiary education institutions in the seven countries of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS): Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Monserrat, St. Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Following prefatory materials, chapter 1 asks if tertiary education in the OECS sub-region will reach its full potential, and how can it help human resource development in the area. Chapter 2 provides background information on OECS countries and systems of education. Chapter 3 describes the development of tertiary education in the OECS since the late 1970s. Chapter 4 discusses the movement towards political independence by OECS countries in the 1970s and 1980s. Chapter 5 reviews the distinguishing features of community colleges throughout the world, while chapter 6 describes the essential characteristics of OECS tertiary education institutions. Chapter 7 examines the supporting conditions for the development of these institutions. Chapter 8 describes a policy and planning framework for future development. Chapter 9 discusses leadership, staffing, community relations, curriculum, and inter-institutional planning concerns. Finally, chapter 10 concludes with a review of future prospects. (YKH)
Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of the West Indies, P.O. Box 64, Bridgetown, Barbados ($16.00).
Publication Type: Books; Information Analyses
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: University of the West Indies, Cave Hill (Barbados). Inst. of Social and Economic Research.
Identifiers - Location: Antigua and Barbuda; Dominica; Grenada; Montserrat; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines