NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED411289
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1991-Jan
Pages: 11
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Ohio Student Testing Requirements.
Ohio State Legislative Office of Education Oversight, Columbus.
State-mandated student testing in Ohio is a combination of three different initiatives: (1) competency-based education (CBE) assessment; (2) achievement and ability testing; and (3) proficiency testing. This report describes the current testing requirements and some of the characteristics of each of these types of assessment. CBE assessment was established in 1983 and redefined in 1989. The purpose of the state's CBE assessment is to see if students are learning the reading, composition, and mathematics curricula being taught in the local schools. The CBE focus is on locally established curriculum goals. The achievement and ability testing requirement was established in 1987. It mandated that districts give commercially published norm-referenced achievement and ability tests to students in grades 4 and 6 and a grade level to be designated by the State Board of Education in reading, language, and mathematics. Revisions in 1989 specified grade 8, and added grade 10. Proficiency tests were also initiated in 1987 to provide for statewide tests in reading, writing, mathematics, and citizenship. These tests are designed to see how students perform on specific learning outcomes identified by the state as important for all students. In contrast to the norm-referenced achievement and ability tests, these are criterion-referenced. Schools can use either type of test to meet the requirement for CBE instruction. (Contains two tables.) (SLD)
Publication Type: Reports - Evaluative
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Ohio State Legislative Office of Education Oversight, Columbus.
Identifiers - Location: Ohio