NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED407435
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1996-Sep-19
Pages: 97
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Common Curriculum Goals, Academic Content Standards, and Essential Learning Skills. Document 1.
Oregon State Dept. of Education, Salem.
Oregon is raising its expectations for students. The current academic standard, which allows students to graduate with only a D-minus average in 22 credit hours of classes, is being replaced by the requirement that students prove that they are proficient in English, mathematics, science, history, and other academic subjects. Students will demonstrate their proficiency through a series of classroom assignments and state tests. This document defines the academic content standards for the new expectations. These content standards are the part of the curriculum goals that will be assessed statewide for the Certificates of Initial and Advanced Mastery. They are defined in this publication for the benchmark years of grades 3, 5, 8, and 10 for the areas of: (1) English (encompassing reading, writing, speaking, literature, and media and technology; (2) mathematics; (3) science; (4) social sciences (history, civics, geography, and economics); (5) the arts; (6) second languages; (7) health education; (8) physical education; and (9) technology. The essential learning skills are the skills students should demonstrate to receive a Certificate of Initial Mastery, which will represent successful achievement at the grade-10 level. These are: reading, writing, problem solving, communicating, learning, thinking, retrieving information, using technology, and working effectively alone and in groups. These academic content standards will be assessed through the performance standards in Document 2 of this series. (Contains nine charts.) (SLD)
Publication Type: Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Oregon State Dept. of Education, Salem.
Identifiers - Location: Oregon