NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED392670
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1994
Pages: 201
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
ISBN: ISBN-0-88936-722-1
30 Years of Learning: Educational Development in Eastern and Southern African from Independence to 1990.
Ishumi, Abel G. M.
This book provides an historical and comparative review of educational policies and practices in eight countries of eastern and southern Africa in the period since political independence. These policies and educational changes were articulated in the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s, decades characterized by high socioeconomic and political expectations. Education was viewed as the key to development and commanded an important place in the development process. This study highlights the major achievement of this time, especially the expansion of primary, secondary, and higher education. The volume also points out the problems and dilemmas faced during implementation of the educational policies, as well as the outcomes of some of these policies. The book discusses the persistent problems accompanying curriculum change, improvement in quality of schooling, vocational and technical education, science education, and language policy. Useful lessons to policymakers are drawn with the successes and failures of various countries' policies. The complexity of educational change is a lesson that clearly emerges, as is the need for partnership among the state, communities, teachers, and other actors in the education sector. The eight chapters include: (1) "Introduction"; (2) "Primary Education"; (3) "Secondary Education"; (4) "Higher Education"; (5) "Science Education"; (6) "Vocational and Technical Training"; (7) "Language of Instruction"; and (8) "Conclusions and Policy Implications." (EH)
International Development Research Center, P.O. Box 8500, Ottawa, Ontario K1G 3H9, Canada.
Publication Type: Books; Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: N/A
Identifiers - Location: Botswana; Kenya; Lesotho; Malawi; Swaziland; Tanzania; Uganda; Zambia