NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED389354
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1994
Pages: 35
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
The History of AMATYC, 1974-1994.
Blair, Richelle M.; Cheifetz, Phil
This monograph describes the establishment, activities, and accomplishments of the American Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges (AMATYC), from its foundation in 1974 to 1994. Section I reviews the history of AMATYC, describing the organization's foundation to provide a voice for two-year college mathematics educators and its first annual conference in 1975; the founding of the group's journal, "The AMATYC Review"; AMATYC's affiliation with the Conference Board of the Mathematical Sciences; its growth to 951 individual members and 78 institutional members by 1983; the initiation of pre-conference workshops in 1983; the establishment of an annual $3,000 scholarship for the winner of the Student Mathematics League Contest in the same year; the formation of AMATYC committees and affiliates on academic computing, developmental mathematics, education, equal opportunity in mathematics, placement/assessment, the Student Mathematics League, technical mathematics, and grants; the shift in the 1990s to national involvement in policy issues; the opening of the AMATYC national office; and the AMATYC mission statement in its original and current forms. Section II lists Mathematics Excellence award recipients for 1984-86, 1988, 1990, and 1992. Section III provides a list of AMATYC presidents and their institutions, conference location and attendance figures, and conference chairs for 1974-94. Section IV highlights AMATYC state level affiliate organizations, listing affiliates' state/region, name, and founding year. Finally, sections V and VI provide an appendix discussing professionalization trends and two-year college mathematics and a glossary of abbreviations. Contains 11 references. (MAB)
Publication Type: Historical Materials; Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges.