NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED384818
Record Type: RIE
Publication Date: 1995
Pages: 15
Abstractor: N/A
The 4 T's of Adulthood Development.
Wood, Joanne M.
Although it may be so subtle that it is not noticed or sudden and life altering, adult development occurs in a cycle of four inherent processes: transaction, transition, transformation, and transcendence. These processes exist in a cycle characterized by growth and development. The processes can be defined as follows: (1) transaction--personal, social, biological or a combination of internal and external elements causing a change in one's meaning perspective; (2) transition--an inner disturbance characterized by a time of reflectivity or personal reckoning in which repair and reconstruction efforts are contemplated; (3) transformation--a revision of one's belief system; and (4) transcendence--accepting the past as finished, recognizing the possibilities of building upon changes incurred, and the development of a sense of fulfillment in life. Conceptualizing the life span in terms of these four stages of development and seeing the stages as occurring in a cycle can benefit adult educators. They can better understand the patterns of change and development and can identify the efforts adult students are making to reframe their lives. Additionally, this view gives educators an existential base for understanding adults and how adults change through time. Such knowledge can help adult educators support adults' development and facilitate the integration of new learning. (Contains 21 references.) (KC)
Publication Type: Opinion Papers
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: N/A
Grant or Contract Numbers: N/A