NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED382133
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1994-Dec
Pages: 19
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Mission, Goals and Programs of the Midwestern Higher Education Commission.
Midwestern Higher Education Commission, Minneapolis, MN.
This publication describes the Midwestern Higher Education Commission and its programs, lists its commissioners and reproduces the compact that established it. A description of the commission notes that its member states are Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin; and that it is an instrument of the collective member states with a mission to improve higher education opportunities and services in the midwest region. The commission works to accomplish this mission through cooperative interstate initiatives led by program committees comprised of state institutional leaders. Commission programs described include projects in telecommunications (including the Virtual Private Telecommunications Network, and the Interactive Video Program), student exchange (Midwest Student Exchange Program), risk management (Master Property Program, an insurance offering), minority faculty development, women in higher education, academic scheduling software, academic position networks, and future directions. A list groups commissioners by state and offers the address, telephone number, and fax number of each. The text of the Midwestern Regional Education Compact which established the commission is included as is a discussion of education compacts in general and the work of three other regional education compacts in the South, the West, and New England. (JB)
Midwestern Higher Education Commission, 1300 S. Second St., Ste. 130, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (free).
Publication Type: Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Midwestern Higher Education Commission, Minneapolis, MN.
Identifiers - Location: Illinois; Kansas; Michigan; Minnesota; Missouri; Nebraska; Ohio; Wisconsin