NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED356877
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1992-Nov
Pages: 26
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
School-Based Early Childhood Centers: Options for Local Policy Action.
Jewett, Janet
School-based early childhood centers are high-quality programs using approaches to instruction based on recognized principles of child development and learning for children 3 to 8 years old. The centers are characterized by the active involvement of parents and the community and by a commitment to smooth transitions from home to school and through the primary grades. In June, 1992, a forum was held to review the experiences of early innovators of the early childhood center concept and to identify policy issues that need to be addressed if the concept is to achieve its promise. Of broad concern across five Northwest states were the following: (1) the implementation of developmentally appropriate curricula; (2) the improvement of assessment practices; (3) responsiveness to increasing cultural, linguistic, and developmental diversity; (4) provision of appropriate time structures; (5) use of school space; (6) administrator and teacher training; (7) family support structures; (8) full parent participation; (9) the involvement of parents in decision making; (10) the integration of child services; (11) the promotion and maintenance of community commitment; (12) support for school-wide change; (13) provision of preschool services; (14) the development of systems for the sharing of timely information; and (15) the provision of transition services. For each of these issues, the report discusses the policy options open to local schools to facilitate the operation of strong early childhood centers. (AC)
Publication Type: Opinion Papers
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: Office of Educational Research and Improvement (ED), Washington, DC.
Authoring Institution: Northwest Regional Educational Lab., Portland, OR. Child, Family, and Community Program.
Identifiers - Location: Alaska; Idaho; Montana; Oregon; Washington