NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED340744
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1991
Pages: 17
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Learning Styles and Schools: Making It Happen.
McCarthy, Bernice
The 4MAT system of instructional change is described. The 4MAT system is an eight-step cycle of instruction that capitalizes on individual learning styles and brain-dominance processing preference. Four major learning styles are recognized: (1) imaginative; (2) analytic; (3) common sense; and (4) dynamic. Because in each style there are people with right-mode, left-mode, and whole-brain dominance, the 4MAT system uses techniques for each mode throughout the learning styles. The 4MAT system is conceptualized as a four-quadrant circle that makes an eight-step learning cycle. It is recommended that the cycle be used in school districts for at least two years to see benefits for students and teachers. Evaluations are ongoing for 16 school districts in the United States and Canada committed to the 4MAT system. Emphasis in successive quadrants is on personal meaning, content and curriculum, usefulness, and creativity. Moving through the cycle, teachers examine their own learning style preferences, and in so doing they become more sensitive to student learning styles and instructional needs. In quadrant form, in the second year of 4MAT implementation, evaluation practices change as learners are brought to accept greater responsibility for self-evaluation. It is also possible to use the 4MAT process as a system approach, with roles for principals, teachers, and students in each quadrant. Eight figures illustrate the discussion, and a 13-item bibliography is included. (SLD)
Publication Type: Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: N/A