NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED336421
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1991-Jun
Pages: 6
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
NAGB Sets Standards for the 1990 NAEP Mathematics Assessment. National Assessment Governing Board Bulletin.
National Assessment Governing Board, Washington, DC.
The National Assessment Governing Board (NAGB) of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) adopted mathematics achievement standards on May 11, 1991 that will be used to report results on the 1990 assessment of mathematics. NAEP achievement levels are descriptions, based on informed judgments, of what students should know and be able to do at grades 4, 8, and 12. The levels for 1990 mark the first time the NAEP has set benchmarks for determining how well students performed, rather than simply reporting how they performed. Three achievement levels, Basic, Proficient, and Advanced, are defined for each of the three grades tested. These levels are defined, and nine sample test items are provided. The Proficient level corresponds with the national goal for student achievement. These levels were defined over an 18-month period with the assistance of approximately 700 judges. The results of the 1990 mathematics tests will be used to assess the utility of achievement levels for mathematics, reading, and writing for the 1992 assessments. (SLD)
Publication Type: Reports - Evaluative
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: National Assessment Governing Board, Washington, DC.
Identifiers - Assessments and Surveys: National Assessment of Educational Progress