NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED317380
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1989
Pages: 874
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Oversight of the National Science Foundation. Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Science, Research and Technology of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology. U.S. House of Representatives, One-Hundred-First Congress. First Session. March 9, 14, 16, 1989. No. 21.
Congress of the U.S., Washington, DC. House Committee on Science, Space and Technology.
This document contains prepared remarks and testimony of the hearings before the subcommittee on science, research and technology regarding the oversight of the National Science Foundation (NSF) particularly the status of science education in the United States. The document includes the testimony and prepared statements of: (1) Hon. Sherwood Boehlert (Republican-New York); (2) Hon. Doug Walgren (Democrat-Pennsylvania); (3) Dr. Ernest L. Boyer (Carnegie Foundation); (4) Ms. Betty Castor (Florida Commissioner of Education); (5) Ms. Dorothy J. Shao (executive editor of Science, Silver Burdett & Ginn); (6) Mr. Ronald R. Malone (president, Kendall/Hunt); (7) Dr. Jerry A. Bell (professor, Simmons College); (8) Ms. Marjorie G. Bardeen (program director, Friends of Fermilab); (9) Dr. Paul Saltman (professor, University of California-San Diego); (10) Mr. Loring Coes III (mathematics chairman, Rocky Hill School, Connecticut); (11) Ms. JoAnn Mosier (teacher, Fairdale, Kentucky); (12) Ms. Kathryn Keranen (teacher, McLean, Virginia); (13) Dr. Richard C. University of California-San Diego); Atkinson (president, American Association for the Advancement of Science); (14) Professor Lynn Arthur Steen (chairman, Council of Scientific Society Presidents); (15) Dr. Thomas F. Malone president, Sigma XI); (16) Dr. Herbert A. Simon (professor, Carnegie Mellon); (17) Mr. Charles L. Schultze (director, economic studies program, Brookings Institution); (18) Mr. William Gorhan (president, the Urban Institute); (19) Dr. Arthur B. C. Walker Jr. (Chairman, NSF Advisor Committee for Astronomical Sciences); (20) Dr. Paul A. Vanden Bout (director, National Radio Astronomy Observatory); (21) Dr. Sidney C. Wolff (director, National Optical Astronomy Observatories); (22) Dr. Tor Hagfors (director, National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center); (23) Mr. Robert W. Craig (president, the Keystone Center); (24) Mr. Bruce S. Manheim Jr. (Environmental Defense Fund); (25) Mr. Erich Bloch (director, NSF); (26) Dr. James L. Powell (National Science Board); and (27) Dr. John Moore (deputy director, NSF). Additional statements and requested reports from the NSF are included in the appendices. (CW)
Superintendent of Documents, Congressional Sales Office, U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402.
Publication Type: Legal/Legislative/Regulatory Materials
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Congress of the U.S., Washington, DC. House Committee on Science, Space and Technology.