NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED314082
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1989-Sep
Pages: 43
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Commission on Preservation and Access. Annual Report July 1, 1988-June 30, 1989.
Commission on Preservation and Access, Washington, DC.
This annual report describes the activities of the Commission on Preservation and Access, a private, nonprofit organization that works through existing institutions and groups to foster, develop, and support collaboration among libraries and allied organizations in order to ensure the preservation of the published and documentary record in all formats, and to provide enhanced access to these records. This report highlights the International Project, the commission's initial pilot project which began in June of 1988 and consists of an exploratory study with the national libraries of Great Britain, France, West Germany, East Germany, Austria, and Venezuela to determine the extent to which preservation records exist in each country; to identify the difficulties of converting those records to machine-readable form and of entering them into a common database; to decide on the level of bibliographic detail needed to exchange records easily; and to determine the best way to proceed in creating a shared database capacity. Information is also provided on the organization and governance of the commission; the nationwide Brittle Books Program; institutional initiatives; communication linkages; selection criteria for materials to be preserved; new technologies; copyright implications of copying deteriorating materials; and supporting activities. Lists of directors, committees, and staff involved with the commission are appended, as well as a list of commission and related publications. An audited financial statement is also included. (SD)
Publication Type: Reports - Descriptive
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Commission on Preservation and Access, Washington, DC.
Identifiers - Location: Austria; East Germany; France; United Kingdom (Great Britain); Venezuela; West Germany