NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED312945
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1988-Dec
Pages: 20
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Prepaid College Tuition and Savings Bond Programs. A Staff Report. Commission Report 88-45.
California State Postsecondary Education Commission, Sacramento.
Information is presented on the three prepaid tuition programs and four college savings bond programs currently in operation in the United States, and the fiscal issues involved in their implementation are summarized. The three prepaid tuition programs are in Michigan, Wyoming, and Florida. The characteristics of the three programs are outlined and charted for comparison. These characteristics include: adoption date; implementation date; residence requirement; inclusion of tuition, mandatory fees, room, and board; publicity; status in relation to financial aid (exemption); restrictions on use; and total invested to date. Other states' interpretation of the federal tax ruling for Michigan's program are noted, and comparisons are made between California's institutional tuition and fees and its higher education enrollment, by institution type and size, and the same factors in the three states implementing prepaid tuition programs. The four savings bond programs examined are those of Illinois, North Carolina, North Dakota, and Washington. Similar characteristics are discussed for these programs, and similar enrollment and college cost comparisons are made between California and the four states. Conclusions are drawn about the risks, advantages, and problems associated with each program type and their appropriateness for California's situation. (MSE)
California Postsecondary Education Commission, Third Floor, 1020 Twelfth St., Sacramento, CA 95814-3985.
Publication Type: Information Analyses; Reports - Evaluative
Education Level: N/A
Audience: Policymakers
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: California State Postsecondary Education Commission, Sacramento.
Identifiers - Location: California; Florida; Illinois; Michigan; North Carolina; North Dakota; Washington; Wyoming