NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
PDF pending restoration PDF pending restoration
ERIC Number: ED279463
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1987-Jan
Pages: 27
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Federal Outlays by Type of Nonmetro County. Rural Development Research Report Number 65.
Green, Bernal L.
To provide practical information for government policy makers, the 1,900 Federal budget elements were grouped into 6 categories to examine how Federal payments were distributed among 8 types of nonmetropolitan counties in fiscal year 1980. The six broad budget categories were targeted economic development, income transfers, human capital (levels of education, job skills, and health), infrastructure (roads, housing, industrial parks, and water systems), general government, and agriculture (commodity programs and disaster relief). The eight nonmetropolitan county groups (identified in ED 262 939) were farming-independent, manufacturing-dependent, mining-dependent, specialized government, persistent poverty, Federal lands, retirement, and unclassified. In 1980 nonmetropolitan counties received nearly $1,500 per capita in Federal payments. Of that sum, $844 per capita was for income transfers, which included Social Security and government and military retirements. The lowest payments ($56 per capita) were for agriculture. Per capita income transfers were highest in retirement counties ($914), suggesting that the economic base of these counties is more stable than that of counties dependent on farming, manufacturing, and mining, where income transfers were much lower. The stability of the retirement counties, however, depends on Social Security payments and on continuation of the current trend of older Americans to move to those counties. (JHZ)
Superintendent of Documents, U. S. Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402.
Publication Type: Reports - Research; Numerical/Quantitative Data
Education Level: N/A
Audience: Policymakers
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Economic Research Service (USDA), Washington, DC. Agriculture and Rural Economics Div.