NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED235968
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1983
Pages: 72
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
ISBN: ISBN-0-936008-20-2
Teaching Guide for Indian Literature. Volume II. Reading Level 6 and Above.
Campbell, Diana; McCarty, T. L., Ed.
The guide contains detailed suggestions for teaching 10 books about Indians to older students who read easily and are ready to be introduced to serious literature. The books are When the Legends Die; Laughing Boy; Dancehall of the Dead; The Man Who Killed The Deer; Rolling Thunder; House Made of Dawn; Yes Is Better Than No; The Man To Send Rain Clouds; American Indian Literature, An Anthology; and Son of Old Man Hat, A Navajo Autobiography. For the first five books, the guide contains study questions, tests, and reading activities which are coded according to Bloom's taxonomy of thinking. For the second five books, the guide presents a less structured instructional method including tests, some study questions, and suggestions for learning activities and large projects. The guide is geared to reading levels 6 and up and emphasizes critical writing and thinking and literary analysis. Test answers and suggested reading activities applicable to all the books are included. (SB)
Publication Type: Guides - Classroom - Teacher
Education Level: N/A
Audience: Teachers; Practitioners
Language: English
Sponsor: Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (ED), Washington, DC. Indian Education Programs.
Authoring Institution: Rough Rock Demonstration School, AZ. Navajo Curriculum Center.