NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED230428
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1982-Apr
Pages: 241
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Engineering and Science Manpower Act of 1982. H.R. 5254. Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Science, Research and Technology of the Committee on Science and Technology. U.S. House of Representatives, Ninety-Seventh Congress, Second Session (April 27, 29, 1982).
Congress of the U.S., Washington, DC. House Committee on Science and Technology.
Provided are hearings on the H.R. 5254 (National Engineering and Science Manpower Act of 1982). The purpose of this legislation is to establish a national policy which will insure an adequate supply of scientists and engineers necessary to meet the needs of the United States in the future. Testimony was presented by John Glenn (U.S. senator from Ohio), Edward David (Exxon Corporation), James Rutherford (American Association for the Advancement of Science), Eugene Zwoyer (American Association of Engineering Societies), Delbert Tesar (engineering professor), Charles S. Robb (Governor of Virginia), Ike Skelton (congressman from Missouri), Douglas Pewitt (Office of Science and Technology, Executive Office of the President), Sheldon L. Glashow (physicist, Harvard University), and Reena Beth Gordon (a Westinghouse scholar, providing a student's perspective on the improvement of precollege science/mathematics education). The testimony addressed various issues in support of the legislation, including current engineering faculty shortages, the need for scientific/technical manpower to operate in a technologically-based society, foreign competition, problems in secondary science/mathematics education, and others. In addition, current and future prospects for resolving the problem were addressed, including government/school industry cooperative efforts. (JN)
Publication Type: Legal/Legislative/Regulatory Materials
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Congress of the U.S., Washington, DC. House Committee on Science and Technology.