NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED217409
Record Type: RIE
Publication Date: 1981
Pages: 66
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: 0
Oak Knoll School English Curriculum.
Marcus, Harriet; And Others
In this detailed survey of the English offerings of a private secondary school for girls, each grade is divided into semester or smaller thematic units. For each of these units, an overview/rationale is followed by a book list and description of how the unit's activities will help the student develop specific skills in the areas of reading, writing, speaking, and listening. Seventh grade is divided into six units: the family, "A Christmas Carol," the short story, "Johnny Tremain," folk literature, and poetry. A year long course on developmental reading is designed for seventh and eighth grade students deficient in basic reading and vocabulary skills. Eighth grade consists of four units: drama, fortune-telling, the novel, and courage. Ninth grade is divided into quarterly courses: world of the past, poetry, short story, and world of the future. Tenth grade consists of two semester courses: literature of the imagination and historical literature. In addition to quarterly courses (in tragic drama, those romantic ladies, hero in Irish literature, and literature as social commentary), students in grades 11 and 12 choose from among 11 electives offered in alternating years. Students who complete extra work may receive honors or advanced placement credit in these courses. (JL)
Publication Type: Guides - Classroom - Teacher
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child Jesus, Summit, NJ.