NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED190306
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1977
Pages: 244
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
Meetings of the American Indian Policy Review Commission (March 5, May 2, June 13, July 11, and September 12, 1975). Volume 1.
Congress of the U.S., Washington, DC. Senate Select Committee on Indian Affairs.
The Senate Select Committee on Indian Affairs met on March 5, 1975, to organize and select officers and members of the American Indian Policy Review Commission. Senator James Abourzek was elected chairman and Representative Lloyd Meeds was elected vice chairman. Rules of procedure were tentatively adopted. Mr. Ernie Stevens was then selected as Staff Director and Mr. Kirke Kickingbird as Staff Counsel. The following people were elected as tribal representatives: Ada Deer, John Borbridge, and Jake Whitecrow for federally recognized tribes; Louis Bruce for Urban Indians; and Adolph Dial for nonfederally recognized Indians. The first business meeting of the Commission was held on May 2, 1975. Chairman Abourzek stated that the Commission would conduct a sweeping review of the U.S. historical and legal relationship with American Indians and that the information compiled would provide the intellectual framework for future American Indian policy. Senator Abourzek also said that the Commission would examine the difference between white and Indian society and the difference between the Indian tribes and societies. The meeting on June 13 was concerned with discussions of and nominations to the 11 task forces, some of which were to begin functioning in July. The meetings on July 11 and September 12 were again concerned with organizational activities. (AN)
Publication Type: Legal/Legislative/Regulatory Materials
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Congress of the U.S., Washington, DC. Senate Select Committee on Indian Affairs.