NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED177500
Record Type: RIE
Publication Date: 1979-Jan
Pages: 10
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: 0
The Why of How to Teach Reading.
Wilson, Robert D.
A schema developed for the teaching of reading involves five factors: learning, language, clues, mediums of communication, and adaptive processes. Learning involves four tasks, taught in the following sequence: comprehension, comparison of semantic shapes, composition of the whole into parts, and concentration. There are four general language characteristics, which are the bases for the four learning tasks: semantics, shape, structure, and skill. Clues involve the spelling patterns of words, the configurations of the alphabet, lexical contexts, and the source of the message. The mediums of communication are sentences, paragraphs, content, and style, all of which may be taught by means of the four learning tasks. Finally, the adaptive processes are expecting, confirming, remembering, and organizing, which correspond respectively to forming, believing, holding, and integrating hypotheses and which are all involved in each of the four learning tasks. (The paper includes the schema for the teaching of reading, a chart that shows the interaction between the learning tasks and the mediums of communication, and a list of instructional strands that have been developed to incorporate the factors of the schema.) (GT)
Publication Type: Speeches/Meeting Papers; Guides - Classroom - Teacher
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: English
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: N/A
Note: Paper presented at the Annual Meeting of the Claremont Reading Conference 46th, Claremont, CA, January 19-20, 1979)