NotesFAQContact Us
Search Tips
ERIC Number: ED034506
Record Type: Non-Journal
Publication Date: 1969-Nov-26
Pages: 4
Abstractor: N/A
Reference Count: N/A
The College Senate. By-Laws.
Franklin and Marshall Coll., Lancaster, PA.
These By-Laws, drafted by the faculty of Franklin and Marshall College, establishes a College Senate that will be responsible for "(1) the consideration and disposition of matters affecting the welfare of the College, and (2) preserving and advancing the well-being of the College as a whole." The Senate will consist of 20 members: 12 regular and three at-large faculty members who will serve three-year terms; three student representatives who will serve one-year terms; and the President and Dean of the College, who will serve as long as they hold those offices. The By-Laws present a detailed explanation of how faculty and student members would be nominated and elected. The Senate, which would be empowered to discuss, examine, and establish policies related to the academic life of the College, is granted the powers and prerogatives that reside in the faculty as a whole with the exception of elective powers and the final right of review and referendum. It would meet once a month, at least, with a quorum of 14 members required for the conduct of business. These meetings will be open to members of the college community, but the Senate has the power to hold closed meetings. Senate decisions are to be regularly reported in writing to the faculty and also made known to the rest of the college community. Questions, proposals, or comments concerning the general welfare of the college may also be made during meetings of the full faculty, which are to be held at least once a semester. (WM)
Publication Type: N/A
Education Level: N/A
Audience: N/A
Language: N/A
Sponsor: N/A
Authoring Institution: Franklin and Marshall Coll., Lancaster, PA.